Contact Utah Governors

Former governors

Contact Utah Senators

Contact Utah Representatives

Utah became the 45th state in the Union on January 4, 1896. The state’s first two senators, Frank Cannon and Arthur Brown, took office on January 22, 1896. Utah’s longest-serving senators include Reed Smoot (1903–1933) and Orrin Hatch (1977–2019). Among those who rose to leadership positions are William H. King and Orrin Hatch, both of whom served as Senate president pro tempore, and Frank E. Moss, Wallace F. Bennett, and Jake Garn, all of whom served as their party’s conference secretary.