Contact Nevada Governors

Former governors

Contact Nevada Senators

Contact Nevada Representatives

Nevada became the 36th state to join the Union on October 31, 1864. Nevada’s first two senators, William Stewart and James Nye, took office on February 1, 1865. Nevada’s longest-serving senators include John P. Jones (1873-1903), Key Pittman (1913-1940), and Howard Cannon (1959-1983). Among those who rose to leadership positions are Key Pittman, who served as the Senate’s president pro tempore, and Harry Reid, who served as Democratic whip and leader.